The statements and views expressed in the postings on the Ocean & Offshore Energy Projects and Policy Blog are my own and do not reflect those of Nixon Peabody LLP. This Blog does not provide specific legal advice. Reading or visiting this Blog does not create an attorney client relationship. This Blog should not be used as a substitute for competent legal advice from a licensed professional attorney in your state.

Friday, March 19, 2010

Upcoming ABA Quick Teleconference!

American Bar Association | Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources

Offshore Renewable Energy Generation: State and Federal Regulation and the Development Process Quick Teleconference

Jennifer Simon Lento, Obermayer Rebmann Maxwell & Hippell, LLP, Philadelphia, PA

Maureen Bornholdt, Mineral Management Services, Herndon, VA
Fara Courtney, Good Harbor Consulting/US Offshore Wind Collaborative, Gloucester, MA
Megan Higgins, Ecology & Environment, Providence, RI
Markian Melnyk, Dewey & LeBoeuf LLP, Washington, DC

Click Here to Register: ABA QT Registration

If you are in the Philadelphia area, you can participate in the QT free of charge by attending this event at my office. Please email me at jennifer.simon@obermayer.com for more information!!

Organized by Jennifer E. Simon, Programs Vice-Chair for the Environmental Litigation and Toxic Torts Committee

Tuesday, March 30, 2010
3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Eastern
2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Central
1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Mountain
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Pacific
(Special Start Time)

For coastal areas of the United States, offshore renewable energy projects including wind, wave and hydro may provide the best opportunity for renewable energy generation. In May 2009, Mineral Management Services issued a new rule governing site leasing for offshore renewable energy projects proposed in federal waters. Because offshore projects typically impact both federal and state waters, states are slowly coming to the table with their own regulatory programs. However, it remains to be seen whether the state and federal regulatory programs will come together cohesively.

This QT invites interested attorneys to peek into the future of offshore renewable energy in the United States. The panel members will discuss the US Offshore Renewable Industry generally, as well as address specific projects, and will identify obstacles to development including regulatory uncertainly and state and federal inconsistencies, as well as transmission and grid issues.

Cosponsored by Energy Infrastructure and Siting and
Renewable and Distributed Energy Resources Committees

This program will not offer CLE credit.